The Carving Board

Where

The Carving Board

252 Jurong East Street 24

#01-107

Singapore 600252

Opening Hours

Tuesday – Sunday: 17:00 – 22:30

Closed on Mondays

Waiting Time

30 minutes at least on Fridays and Weekends. – Serving time is quick though!

Review

This is my first time at The Carving Board. I’ve driven past it multiple times over the last few weeks and have been meaning to try it after its makeover. (Because there’s always a queue!)

This trip was taken with my mother and cousin. Totalling to about 40SGD for the 3 of us with drinks, a very reasonable price for a steak house!

I had the Prawn and Bacon Aglio e Olio. It isn’t bad, but I wouldn’t be running back in a hurry for it. I think the garlic could use a few minutes more on the pan and the pasta is not well balanced, some parts tastes pretty good while others lack flavour. There’s no consistency in a single plate of pasta. The spaghetti however is very well done, al dante!

The fried chicken strips are pretty average and nothing to complain about, but not amazing. I must say though, it is very very crispy!

I feel that the main selling point of The Carving Board is definitely its grilled meats. My cousin ordered the premium mixed grill platter which comes with beef, lamb and chicken. Now that is a seriously good eat, the red meats especially! The lamb is well marinated, it doesn’t carry the usual stinky lamb smell, and cooked to perfection. The chicken however could use a little more marination but it is pretty juicy! I didn’t get a chance to try the beef as my cousin finished it before I could have a bite, but judging by the tables around me, it is probably the thing you should go for when you come to The Carving Board.

We also had the mashed potato, I am definitely not a fan of that. It is loaded with milk making it very creamy and has this overpowering milk taste. Will not advise to go for that.

The black pepper sauce is pretty standard, nothing to complain about but not fantastic.

I also tried their homemade Iced Lemon Tea. It is not too shabby! A little bit on the sour side and not too sweet.

Standard chilli and tomato sauces are on a self service basis, so you can have as much or as little as you want!

*The Carving Board also serves beers and ciders! Do give it a try! They do look pretty interesting! I personally like the brand of cider they carry!

Worth Returning?

I’m not going to hurry back to The Carving Board for their pasta, but I will definitely be up for their grilled meats!


E.

Leave a Reply

