SO Restaurant

IMG_7616.JPG

Where

3-4 Warwick Street

London, United Kingdom

W1B 5LS

Opening Hours

Mondays – Thursday: 12:00 – 15:00 & 17:30 – 22:00

Fridays: 12:00 – 15:00 & 17:30 – 22:30

Saturdays: 12:00 – 22:30

Sundays: Closed

Waiting Time

None.

Review

He’s been here before when I was out of town and decided to surprise me by bringing me here one afternoon after we were shopping at the nearby Carnaby Street. I must admit I was pleasantly surprised! The proprietors are Japanese and so are the most of the staff. They have a sushi counter and (after some research) they have a sushi making class!

Back to the food, I had the pork katsu* and must admit that it’s the best I’ve eaten in London so far. They use Berkshire pork and use a mix of panko and brioche for the breading coat. They also serve their home special tonkatsu sauce.**  The katsu takes longer to make and serve, but trust me, it’s worth it. It comes juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside. The meat is packed full of flavour and you can tell they have marinated the meat before deep frying it, unlike most other restaurants in London (they are also mostly chicken in other places!). The katsu also comes with fat, usually, I am quite turn off when I see fat in my pork… BUT, this is the melt in your mouth kind of fat… I ate (guiltily) them all, fat included.

The dish also comes with an interesting red cabbage pickle, I say interesting because katsu is usually served with finely shredded cabbage and some kind of pickle on the side, but SO serves an amalgamation of both!

The sauce also wasn’t bad, it was actually quite lovely, goes rather well with the pork. Although I preferred to eat the katsu by itself! (Yes, it was THAT good). Rice was also decent.

The set does not come with miso soup, but there is an option to order it as a side, I have not tried it, but my bet is that it should be pretty good!

Service is also lovely, the proprietors are very friendly! There was a table next to us and the kids spilt their miso soup, and the waiting staff immediately brought some napkins (and even helped the mother dry the child off) and a fresh bowl of soup! I was impressed with the waiting staff!

The price point was not too bad either, my set only costs around £17 before tax and service.

It’s definitely a place I will return to, if not to try other items on their menu, then definitely for their katsu. 

Worth Returning?

Definitely.

*See definition here.

**See definition here.


E.

Leave a Reply

