Kanada-Ya

 

FullSizeRender 2

Where

3 Panton Street

Piccadilly, London

United Kingdom

SW1Y 4DL

Hours

Mondays – Saturday: 12:00 – 15:00 & 17:00 – 22:30

Sundays: 12:00 – 20:30

Waiting Time

It varies and really depends on your luck.

Review

I love Kanada-ya. I find that it is probably the best ramen in town, beating out Ippudo (yes, I’ve said it) and Bone Daddies.

The broth is simple yet a complexity of flavours, but like all Tonkotsu Ramen it is rich and I dare says it warms your soul. The broth here is simmered for over 18 hours and in a generous portion, but you will have to order the Hanjuku Egg as an extra topping.

I have tried the Truffle Tonkotsu Ramen, and I found it very very rich, I found that the Truffle flavour overpowered the broth so I did not enjoy it as much as the original, but my best friend loves it. So do give it a try if you’re in the mood to be adventurous. – I generally find that the original is the best, any other toppings or flavourings just kills the flavour of the broth, but to each his own!

Each bowl costs around £10 but may be more depending on the toppings you decide to add on later.  Kaedama (extra noodles) comes at £2.

I also highly recommend the Truffle Edamame, a little playful twist on your usual salted Edamame.

Kanada-ya also offers a good selection of Japanese alcohol including an interesting Yuzu Sake.

Do go down and have a try for yourself! It’s definitely worth the queue!

Worth Returning?

Definitely.


E.

Leave a comment